Spirit of Skiing Award

The New England Ski Museum Board of Directors is pleased to announce that Dr. E. John B. Allen is the 2023 Spirit of Skiing Award Winner. 

John is the preeminent historian of skiing and a leader across the world in understanding the economy and culture of skiing and snowsports. His scholarship is foundational and essential to the work of other researchers, writers, scholars, and journalists across many decades and continents. 


Several of John’s books have won awards and driven how skiers understand their past and present. From Skisport to SkiingTraveling the Old Ski Tracks of New England, and, most importantly, The Culture and Sport of Skiing are crucial to the body of literature around our sport. The ski museum’s Spirit of Skiing is a small token of ‘thank’ to John.

John has also been a fabulous skier in his own right and is a proclaimed “Aspen Ski Bum, class of ’57.” John and his family have generously created an endowment for the ski museum designed to support continued scholarship and publication. All proceeds from the Spirit of Skiing Award event will go directly to the EJBA Fund.

Previous Spirit of Skiing Award honorees include Kelly Brush Davisson, Phil Gravink, Stan Judge, Anna McIntyre, Alan Fletcher Sr., the Caldwell Family of Nordic skiing, Vermont’s Cochran Family, Cal Conniff, Preston Smith, Tyler Palmer, Bernie Weichsel, George Capaul, Penny Pitou, Herbert Schneider, SE Group, Stein Erickson and Tom Corcoran.

Reservations may be made by calling the Museum at 800-639-4181 or 603-823-7177, or at http://www.newenglandskimuseum.com/events/ . Those interested in attending should RSVP by January 15th, 2024 though door registration is possible.

The New England Ski Museum is a non-profit member-supported organization with the mission to collect, preserve and exhibit objects, literature and imagery related to the history of skiing. It maintains museums open to the public at Franconia Notch State Park and North Conway, New Hampshire.

John Allen

E. John B. Allen