Annual Meeting and Dinner

Phil Gravink and Stan Judge to be Honored with The Spirit of Skiing Award

The New England Ski Museum’s 15th annual Spirit of Skiing Award will be presented to on Saturday November 13, 2021 beginning at 5 PM at the Omni Mount Washington Hotel in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire. Each fall the Museum honors a person or group who personifies the memorable adage spoken by Otto Schniebs, the well-liked 1930s ski coach and instructor that “skiing is not just a sport—it is a way of life.”

Two long-time ski area general managers, Stan Judge of Wildcat and Phil Gravink of Loon and Attitash, will be honored with the Spirit of Skiing Award. Sadly, Gravink died in 2020 so he will be recognized posthumously. Originally president and general manager at Peek ‘n Peak in New York, Gravink moved to Loon Mountain in Lincoln after 14 years at Peek ‘n Peak, and ran its growing operation until the early 1990s, when he worked a stint as general manager of Cannon Mountain. At Attitash he oversaw the sale of the resort to American Skiing Company, and the expansion of the resort onto Bear Peak.

Phil Gravink at Loon Mountain

Stan Judge was recruited by Wildcat for his engineering expertise in the wake of operational challenges that mountain experienced with its first-in-the-nation Savio-Carlevaro gondola. He spent nearly four decades managing and expanding Wildcat, while sharing his lift engineering expertise with the American National Standards Institute B77 ski lift safety standards committee and the New Hampshire Passenger Tramway Safety Board.

Stan Judge at Wildcat in 1996

Previous Spirit of Skiing Award honorees include Anna McIntyre, Alan Fletcher Sr., the Caldwell Family of Nordic skiing, Vermont’s Cochran Family, Cal Conniff, Preston Smith, Tyler Palmer, Bernie Weichsel, George Capaul, Penny Pitou, Herbert Schneider, SE Group, Stein Erickson and Tom Corcoran.

The Spirit of Skiing Award is given in conjunction with New England Ski Museum’s annual meeting. A reception and short business meeting precede the dinner, and when the meal is over the Spirit of Skiing Award is presented. Cost of the dinner is $125.00 per person and tables of 10 may be reserved for $1,250.00. All proceeds support the non-profit New England Ski Museum.

Zoe Zimmermann

Because of the cancellations of the Museum’s past two presentations of the Golden Ski Award due to the pandemic, those awards, honoring the foremost junior male and female Alpine ski racers in the east, will also be featured at the event. Ben Ritchie, the 2020 and 2021 male Golden Ski winner, and Zoe Zimmermann and Ava Sunshine Jemison, the 2020 and 2021 female winners respectively, will be recognized for their achievements.

Ben Ritchie

In addition, the 2021 Burckett-Dodge Award, given each year by the U. S. Ski & Snowboard Eastern Alpine Officials Committee for outstanding service to eastern race officiating, will be presented posthumously to Peter Holland, B.B. Baker and Mike Cosman. This will be the first time the Burckett-Dodge Award is presented at a Museum gathering, though the trophy itself, a finely varnished long-handled flat shovel, has been on display in the Museum’s Franconia branch for many years.

Ava Sunshine Jemison

Dinner reservations may be made by calling the Museum at 800-639-4181 or 603-823-7177, or at . Those interested in attending should RSVP by October 28, 2021.

The New England Ski Museum is a non-profit member-supported organization with the mission to collect, preserve and exhibit objects, literature and imagery related to the history of skiing. It maintains museums open to the public at Franconia Notch State Park and North Conway, New Hampshire.